Ohio River Way 2nd Annual Summit Coming To Lawrenceburg

Ohio River Way 2nd Annual Summit

One Dearborn Economic Development is proud to be welcoming the Ohio River Way 2nd Annual Summit presented by The Friendship State Bank to Lawrenceburg, Indiana! This Summit is a great opportunity to share, learn and help shape the future of the Ohio River Way.
The cost is just $15 for representatives of communities and organizations that are Charter Members of the ORW and $25 for everyone else. Registration includes morning refreshments, lunch and summit materials. Space is limited so please register today.
Lodging is available at the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel (on the Ohio River across the street from Ivy Tech) for folks who would like to come to Lawrenceburg the night before the Summit.

Immediately following the Summit, join the Ohio River Way and guests for a happy hour at nearby Proof 124 Table & Tavern.
The Ohio River Way is seeking Summit Sponsors starting at just $100


Ohio River Way Summit Agenda (subject to change)

8:30-9:30am Registration & Coffee 

9:30-10:00am Welcoming Comments & "Speed Networking" - Brewster Rhoads (Board Chair, Ohio River Way), Kelly Mollaun (Mayor, City of Lawrenceburg), Richard Harrison (Executive Director, ORSANCO)
10:00-10:30am OUR VISION FOR THE OHIO RIVER WAY - Rick Greiwe (Principal, Greiwe Development and ORW Board Member)
BUSTING MYTHS ABOUT THE OHIO RIVER Dr. Christopher Lorentz (Professor of Environmental Science & Director of the Thomas Moore Ohio River Biology Field Station)
10:30-11:25am COLLABORATING THROUGH ORW TO BUILD OUR COMMUNITIES - Moderator: Sean Dunne (Mayor, Portsmouth, OH), Pamela Stevenson (Member, Kentucky House of Representatives - Louisville), Jeff Gahan (Mayor, New Albany, IN), and others to be confirmed
11:30am-12:25pm FUNDING OUR RIVER PROJECTS & REGION - Moderator: Mike Perleberg (Executive Director, One Dearborn & ORW Board Member), Dennis Keene (Commissioner, Kentucky Department for Local Government), Allen Hurst (Trails Coordinator, Indiana Department of Natural Resources), Robert Koehler (Deputy Executive Director, OKI Regional Council of Governments), Frances Mennone (Managing Director, FBT Project Finance & ORW Board Member)
12:30-1:00pm Lunch (provided) 
1:00-1:30pm INCREASING ACCESS FOR ALL, ESPECIALLY UNDERSERVED POPULATIONS - Tanner Yess (Co-Director, Groundwork Ohio River Valley & ORW Board Member), Miriam Wise (Director of Support & Engagement, Adventure Crew)
1:30-2:25pm ATTRACTING TOURISTS & TALENT TO OUR RIVER COMMUNITIES - Moderator: Mary Allen (Councilwoman, Village of New Richmond & ORW Board Member), Janet Hunt (Tourism Director for Augusta & Bracken County, KY), Julie Kirkpatrick (President & CEO, MeetNKY, Northern Kentucky Convention & Visitors Bureau), Noelle Szydlyk (Director of Sports Tourism & Event Planning, Indiana Destination Development)
2:30-3:30pm PROMOTING THE RIVER’S BRAIDED ASSETS - Moderator: David Wicks (Board Chair, River City Paddle Sports & Vice Chair of the ORW Board), Liz Sedler (Director, Archaeological Research Institute - Native American History & Culture), Jim Mallory (Board Member, Lewis & Clark Trust), Greg Roberts (Ohio River National Freedom Corridor), Jessica Whitehead (Payne Hollow on the Ohio - PHOTO), Ryan Abrahamsen (Terrain 360) 

  • Phase 2 of ORW Planning
  • Hiring staff
  • Recruiting more members
  • Creating Master Plan for connecting ORW communities by bike trails
  • Activating our signage plans for branded signage and kiosks along the ORW
  • Attaining Regional & National Designations
  • Applying for National Recreation Trail Designation from the Dept. of Interior (Nov 2023)
  • Securing State Water Trail Designation by OH, KY and IN (2022-2023)
  • Raising Awareness
  • Jointly marketing annual festivals/events 
  • Designing themed "Braided Trail" tours - Native American History & Culture Trail, Underground Railroad Trail, Museum Trail
  • Winery/Brewery/Distillery Trail, Historic Main Street Trail, Ohio River Eco Trail, etc.

4:30-6:00pm Happy Hour at Proof 124 (124 Short St. just one block from Ivy Tech Community College)